That’s Just Not Her

 

Yesterday’s post I wrote about my beloved Macbook Pro having been returned to me, but I realized I’d never named her. And I named her Joy. But that’s just not her.

 

Not that Joy isn’t a great name. And joy is one of my favorite words. My favorite magician, Doug Henning, had a great quote: “When we live with a sense of wonder, out lives become filled with joy.”

 

Man how true. Joy has become a bigger word to me than even magic, even though it has less letters. But it encompasses everything. And let’s face it, this computer has used it’s warranty three times over in visits to the Apple Store. So if I call her Joy then they’ll be no Joy in my life when the geniuses have her. Although after these last twelve days, I’m not so sure about the “genius” part.

 

So what to call her? Like I said, Mac is probably already taken. And MB just seems too lazy and unimaginative. I do always say puter instead of computer. Maybe just P. Ha! I said pee.

 

How about PT? Nah, makes it sound military. What about Put? What about little Pooter? I like that. I think that’s what Mork called Mindy. Little Pooter. And Mork and Mindy is why I got into being a comedian.

 

That’s it! Pooter. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to close her up and seal the new arrangement with a light little stroke. Happy surfing everyone!

 

