Computers Taking Over the World…Not Yet

Don’t Be Afraid Yet
Courtesy of http://www.clipart.com

 

Science fiction has been predicting for many years that computers will eventually learn to “think” and will take over the world. I saw War Games in the 80s. I was there for the Y2K rumors. So far we’re safe, and if my phone and laptop are any indication, we’re not in any danger.

I don’t really think they stand a chance when they don’t know where they are and they don’t know what the weather is going to be like. I spent a lot of time on the bus this summer and was constantly amused by my GPS. There is a function in it that can map out the public transportation routes with times and directions. I just had to laugh when the map would say “…has arrived” and there I was, still sitting on the bus listening to someone talking too loud on their cell phone next to me. This system is built on satellites or they wouldn’t even know when the bus could possibly arrive, so how are the computers going to take over the world when they’ll miss their target? They’ll be shooting for the UN and end up at McD’s. After hours. Talking to the box.

And the change in the weather. I was talking to my mom and she was asking about the weather, we’re supposed to get some of those 90s for the next few days. So I went to look at the weather site and it said it was 77 degrees. Ok. But. It also said that it would be 90. In fourteen minutes! So I says to mom how can someone not know to change this, she says dad says they’re all on computers, so why couldn’t the computer just interpret the change and adjust accordingly? To my first-hand knowledge, spilling coffee on your laptop keyboard fries it; so how are the computers going to take over the world if they decide to attack…and it rains? They’re all not R2D2 that could whip out an umbrella ala a light saber. They’ll all just be laying there out in the street, like a bunch of beer cans after a big concert.

So rest assured good humans we are safe. But they are getting smarter, more useful and a bigger part of our daily lives every day. So while they’re still our “pets” let’s take care of them. And eat breakfast somewhere else. And stop talking to them. They might be listening.

 

8 thoughts on “Computers Taking Over the World…Not Yet

  1. Technology is only great when it works!

  2. Yikes, they might be listening eh?

  3. Pingback: Computers Taking Over the World…Not Yet « Crafty Aggie's Blog

  4. Hilariously true! 🙂

  5. Agreed, but I am still nervous by books like 1984 and Brave New World.

    • It’a hard to shake good sci-FI. I was on the train a couple of weeks ago and these two women were talking about all these conspiracy theories and they seemed to have the facts.

      Sent from my iPhone

Comments are closed.