Change In The Weather

snow

 

Where’s your global warming now?

I’m torn between being thankful for where I live and wanting to be in the middle of the big snowstorm. You see there’s no extremes in Southern California. Heck there’s barely a fluctuation. Folks who’ve grown up here will tell you that there are seasons. Thppppt!

Nope, here it just stays the same. Near 70, almost always sunny, really pretty great. Today it rained but it doesn’t rain hard, just need an umbrella, not metal boots lest ye be blown down the street. I did hear a loud thunder, I think my first in three years. Woke me up in the middle of the night and I wondered if it was thunder, my dreaming or one of the off-shore oil rigs exploding. But there was another clap of thunder and I knew the execs at BP could rest easily.

But watching the reports of the oncoming Nemo blizzard in the East makes me think. First off, Nemo’s a cute little fish, why name a potentially catastrophic snowstorm after a cute little animated fish that has one fin smaller than the other?

I also think about the couple of big ass snowstorms I was present for in Chicago. The first one was in 1967. I don’t remember it because I was only five, and at that time five meant kindergarten that included a lot of naps and playing with trucks. There was no pre-school and therefore my cognitive memory behaviors had not been activate yet. There’s just a picture of me and my brother where the drifts on either side are bigger than us.

The next major one was 1978. This one I remember because we were on a confirmation retreat for St. Marcelline’s. I don’t remember what we did on the retreat, I just remember we got snowed in, the priests didn’t have anything planned for an extra day and a lot of the cool kids had snuck in booze. Which meant I was sober.

I do remember the snow coming home. I had a job shoveling the snow of the people across the street who had yet to move in. So ca-ching that week.

There would be many more storms. Lots of shoveling, lots of digging out cars, lots of helping people push their cars. Makes you appreciate life, makes you appreciate your neighbors. And it’s really cool to watch when it’s coming down and you just say “Well,I ain’t going anywhere.”

 

9 thoughts on “Change In The Weather

  1. Got Coffee??? Stay warm……. Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  2. hum hum..one topic wasgo green..and eveyone turned purple,,then global warming..only cost shot up and fired up..there is this recycling and literally the empty cargoes casings are finding theirway into prime locations for a display..I find that..as if an old shoe is frilled and laced and put on display ..but then since, chicken are born directly and no more eggs are needed..as I read in the newspaper..I am thinking..relax..its time to take a nap..we don’t need to be a toddler for n untimely nap..zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  3. Still in the Northeast and here to say, be thankful 😉

Comments are closed.