Seriously? 68¢?

A photo of a McDonalds' Big Mac hamburge

 

I do not normally write about something in the news. For one, Jon Stewart and the Daily Show already do it too good. Two, it could possibly never end if I started, especially politics. And my brain has so many thoughts already running through it. But I just couldn’t pass this one up.

According to Huffington Post:

Doubling the salaries and benefits of all McDonald’s employees — from workers earning the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour to CEO Donald Thompson, whose 2012 compensation totaled $8.75 million — would cause the price of a Big Mac to increase just 68 cents, from $3.99 to $4.67, Arnobio Morelix told HuffPost. In addition, every item on the Dollar Menu would go up by 17 cents.

This is a study by a University of Kansas student who was probably eating McDonald’s or some other fast food as he researched and prepared it.

McDonald’s didn’t comment. There’s the funny part. I see the meeting going like this:

“Um, grumble, grumble, grumble.”

1st exec: “Where’s my coffee? No I don’t want ours, I want a triple shot mocha.”

2nd exec: “Did you see that study?”

1st exec: “Yes I did.”

2nd exec: : “Should we do anything about it?”

1st exec: “Heck no, I make 8.75 million dollars, why do I need to double my salary? And if I don’t need it, why should anyone else?”

The reality of this situation is insane. I wonder what the price would be if those executives in the millions didn’t take the raise and just let the minimum wage workers have it? It would probably go down.

One could argue that it’s their choice to work there for the wage but where else can you get a job that only entails pushing a picture of a product and withstanding the smell of grease? But seriously McD’s, it seems somewhere you could find it in your heart to figure it out. Don’t you get that all the good things you do end up getting overshadowed by this pettiness? And if your argument is that people around the world are also in dire economic times, well tell them to just get the small fries cause the calories are already in the gazillions.

Trouble is, I don’t eat at McD’s so I can’t protest. And I know how hard it is with kids to stop the moms from going to McDonald’s. And nothing makes the work day go slower like a quick drive-thru. So I wonder if there’s hope. I’ve worked with the people from McDonald’s for events at their Ronald McDonald Houses. They seemed to care. Let’s hope the higher ups do as well.

