Did I Really Just Say That?

grumpy_old_man

 

I’ve found myself in the company of younger people lately and I’ve also found myself saying “well you’re younger so you probably don’t remember…..” OMG, seriously did I just say that?!

It’s not like I feel old, in fact I feel fit and energetic, it’s just that I seem to need to qualify things when I know the person was alive in diapers when I’m relating the memory. Or I don’t know if they know Mork and Mindy to know where my comedy training comes from. Or I don’t know if they’ve ever seen a reel to reel recorder that I thought was so cool as a teenager (still do.) Or I don’t if they know Michael Jackson made a 45 record of Rockin Robin long before he made those amazing videos.

And I don’t think that I need to feel this way, I don’t seem to be boring them. I’ve always been able to entertain all age groups, but maybe I’m just paranoid that a young girl is going to think “He is like, soooo old” and I’m not even trying to flirt.

I just want to be careful. It’s easy to become cynical. Oh so easy, just watch the news. So as much as I have complained that there’s no storms in Southern California and it’s always sunny it’s really good for my disposition. Because I don’t want to be the guy that says “you think you got it tough because you don’t have an iPhone 5S? When I was a kid we walked ten miles to school, in the snow, with no boots, and….”

One thought on “Did I Really Just Say That?

Comments are closed.