The Power of the Jingle

frito

I remember it as if it were yesterday.

Aye, yii, yii, yiiii,
I am the Frito Bandito.
I like Frito’s Corn Chips,
I love them I do.
I want Frito’s Corn Chips,
I’ll get them from you.

*****
Aye, yii, yii, yiiii,
Oh, I am the Frito Bandito.
Give me Frito Corn chips
And I’ll be your friend.
The Frito Bandito
You must not offend.

It is amazing how these jingles get stuck in our head and that’s why the agencies that put them together get paid a lot of money. I would love to say the writer’s get paid a lot of money, but that’s not always the case.

I can’t remember the names of all the girls I’ve kissed, but I remember the commercials for Parkay and Chiffon margarine from thirty years ago.

But if these commercials and jingles can be so memorable are they also responsible for the negative effects they’re had on our lives?*

Is the reason I seek out fatty and unhealthy foods because I crave the feeling of  “Plop plop fizz fizz oh what a relief it is?”

Is it possible that I am carrying around unfair stereotypes because of the Frito Bandito?

Is this country now facing an obesity epidemic because the only thing that can make us happy is deep-fried, fast-prepared, covered in sugar and fat but oh so much fun because the commercials and songs told us they were?

There were no jingles for vegetables. No one sang about broccoli. No one made jokes about kale. The funny stuff, the catchy stuff, it was all about those things that were processed, plastic and prepared. We are slaves, drones, followers, riding on a conveyor belt to the funhouse where our favorite tune is playing like an amusement park ride that’s over in half a second and you’ve paid dearly for. But you’ve been lured and cajoled and led to believe that you’ll be satisfied.

We’ve been hypnotized by its power.

*Of course they’re not responsible, this is a comedy blog.

2 thoughts on “The Power of the Jingle

  1. That’s one spicey meatball is the one stuck in my head.

Comments are closed.