How To Say It

I consider myself a very loyal person; I’ve never cheated on a girlfriend, I try not to bad-mouth anyone, in fact look for ways to suggest that others look at things in a different way, and I will not forsake a friend for monetary gain. That’s what makes this predicament so hard for me. I’ve been cheating, I’ve been disloyal, I am thinking of this new thing in my life in a better light. Yes, I’m talking about my juicer.

I have a Jack Lalanne Power Juicer. Had it for three years. He’s my buddy, he’s an important part of my day like I’m sure his namesake once was for millions of people. He makes me feel good. I take care of him, cleaning him carefully. I would say it’s more of a she than a he because of my feelings but then I’m simply being homophobic that I can’t have feelings for a male product.

The truth is that it’s been my only love for these past few years. When I visit my parents I miss the way he makes me feel. I miss him being part of my day. Until this trip.

My mom bought the Breville Juice Fountain Plus and I don’t know how I’m going to feel when I go home. There are two speeds. The whole things is sturdier, faster, it came with a small pitcher the juice flows into (with a lid!) instead of using a small glass. And with the discount my mom had, it was only about $25 more.

The first day I used it I cut my finger on the blade. I don’t know, somehow that made me respect it more. Know that it demanded respect and care. And respected that.

I’m afraid of how I’ll feel when Jack isn’t as smooth, as efficient, as dare I say, pretty. I like the fake chrome look of the bevel and the tinted plastic, it’s cooler. The white and green will be like going to college and then seeing your high school friends again.

But he’s been with me for a long time. He’s been the thing that keeps me in good spirits. I can’t forget what he’s meant as I struggled through career changes, a new state, a new life. I have to remember what we’ve been through together.

Until I can afford to replace him.

 

4 thoughts on “How To Say It

  1. Okay…it’s late, I’m tired, and I didn’t see that coming!!! So you made me laugh out loud again…well done, Jeffrey!! I like your Mom, she sounds cool!!

Comments are closed.