The See-Saw

seesawThere are two things that happen to me when I get sick—I get rather nostalgic, and I’m also bored and allow myself to be further bored because if I’ve reached a certain discomfort level I just want to wallow in the poor me and not read anything but watch endless hours of online reruns. Which is pretty much all that can happen in the end of the regular broadcast season.

But more so than repeating the same programs, the individual who is strictly an online viewer will repeat the same commercials ad nauseam. And so I found myself stuck between two in particular; one, an advertisement for a new Fast and Furious ride at Universal Studios and the other for some medication. Actually I know the name of the medication but based on all the legal wording needed to cover their bases about possible side effects, I don’t want to take a chance at some lawyer contacting me because it has nothing to do with the medicine. It has to do with a shot of two actors on a see-saw in the middle of the beach.

And that’s what this is about. The see-saw. And does any kid get a thrill out of the see-saw anymore with all of the amusement parks and special effects involved in their rides?

The see-saw was a big deal to me. I was a small kid, really still am, and this was before I would eventually learn to tumble and jump on a trampoline. I was afraid of heights. It was my version of courage at the time that when I was on the “down-side” to push and go back up. And of course, occasionally your “partner” was the type to want to leave you up there. Even go so far as to get off and let the device come crashing down before you could get off.

So watching this commercial with the see-say interspersed with the impending new ride that simulated the speed and excitement of a racing car without the participant doing any actual driving, I went into old man mode and wondered if kids are entertained by slides or swings or see-saws? Or are there parents simply expected to start saving for college even earlier and merely using the tuition for family vacations to amusement parks? Because it seems as if the courage is wrapped up in the hype, the special effects, the familiarity that the movie-tie-in has bred surrounding the ride and has nothing to do with the individual and their pushing to go back up to the place they’re not comfortable.

Or maybe I’m just mad I haven’t had the spare $ to go to Disneyland and I live just over 20 miles away.

