I missed summer!

smiley_mood_sad_green

 

I missed summer! Particularly i missed the solstice or at least most of it. Because  it’s usually every June 21, but this year, because of some science-y thing, it started last night, Thursday the 20th, at 10:04pm for those of us in the west. So that like blows. I missed the longest day of sunlight of the year.

Oh the plans I had!  I was going to begin by rising with the sun. I would sit up and immediately sing “Good Day Sunshine” by the Beatles followed by “Good Morning Sunshine”, a song from the musical Hair. Only it turns out that it’s “Good Morning Starshine” and I’ve been getting it wrong for 30 years since I saw that movie. So I’m glad that didn’t happen, what a way to start the longest day of the year making an a$$ of yourself.

Anyways, then I’d go for a walk or a run, smiling at every one I meet to greet them and the first day of summer and the joy of life. I would have followed this by a coffee and perhaps some fresh juiced juice and a multi-grain bagel. I would have gotten some work done, whistling all the while or singing along with the music coming out of my iTunes.

I would have to have had a noon break, again embracing the sunshine, perhaps this time on the beach, bare feet in the sand and surf, the feel of life and the sound of the ocean. Work would feel like nothing to me and I would bring to it the joy it deserved whether it was designing a site, doing some programming or writing some content. If a client called the conversation would be filled with sparkle and our days would be blessed to have spent the time interacting with each other’s lives.

I would take a book outside and read in the evening, enjoying the late sun and I would retire early, exhausted yet whole, for having fully lived the longest day of the year and the first day of summer.

But I missed it. So I didn’t do any of those things. I woke up late because the woman in the building next door was talking meaningless s*#t until two in the morning again. But it did turn out to be a good day cause I did have a really fun phone conversation. I guess it just goes to show that special plans shouldn’t be made for just special days. And there’s really nothing to miss.

There’s just days. And they’re all special.

10 thoughts on “I missed summer!

  1. June 21 st..brings heat and miseries..where i live extra time before sunset and we get a relief..I never thought we can celebrate, unless we got a birthday..then we are forced to eat the cake..on a hot day..whoever thought about cutting cake..didn’t realize..that is not really so tasty when you got beads of perspiration lined up..and extra candles just makes you so ..depressed..I mean longest day..sunshine who needs candles to blow up.

  2. What a great way of looking at the beginning of summer! Made me laugh and think

  3. Well said, Jeffrey!! I did like your “dream” day, though!! Ha!!

Comments are closed.